NaNoWriMo 2014

NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month. The challenge is to write a 50,000 word rough draft “novel” in a month. The point of this challenge is to get in front of the keyboard and pen down that novel while having fun at it among the community of other writers. You can join a virtual community at the website or go to a NaNoWriMo write-in in your city. It’s fun to meet other like-minded people.

As for myself, this event serves as a motivation to write. NaNoWriMo seems to work best if I already have my pre-writing done. That includes character sketches, notes, outlines, old writing prompts with feedback from other writer friends. The prewriting or figuring out what the novel will be about is half the task. It took me 5 years to get through the prewriting stage of my novel. During this time, I was completing grad school and teaching. In 2012, I attempted NaNoWriMo but became burnt out with my classes. In 2013, I was teaching in Singapore and too busy with grading homework and planning lessons. Now in 2014, since my prewriting is complete and after quitting teaching, I have no excuse. I’m excited to get it done.

This Saturday, I met Brookline Wordplay group at Athan’s cafe with Luis. He used to write but was interested in trying to write again. Usually the group meets us to hang out, do a prompt together, and learn a new writing technique. During November, we’re meeting separately for our NaNoWriMo challenges. We skip the prompts and just work on our novels together over coffee and pastry.

On the left side of my blog, I’ll be keeping a meter to keep you all posted. I’m so far at 12,175 words.

 

12175 / 50000 words. 24% done!

Comments

