Fish Pedicure at Alleviate, Chinatown Singapore

I tried it when I was in Singapore. It’s quite an experience. I trust Singapore more than some of the other neighboring countries. Curiosity got to me, but I didn’t want to catch a nasty illness. I have already been going to Alleviate Spa in Chinatown for reflexology and massages. I saw they had a fish spa with small aquariums that were lit up with UV light to kill bacteria. After seeing good reviews, I decided to give it a try.

2014-04-25 19.49.57

First, I walk in and the guy greets me. I wash my feet in a foot sink and he checks it to make sure there aren’t any cuts. I see several tanks filled with those little gaffa carp swimming around. The idea sounded really cool. I will have a story to tell my friends back home.

I quickly dip my feet and it felt like this . . .

2014-04-25 19.49.24

For s second, I forgot that I was a school teacher at a Christian international school. I literally screamed and said “What the fuck?!” Students at that school would get detentions for swearing. Swearing does not bother me.  It depends on context. An f-bomb is not as offensive as using God’s name in vain or saying “Jesus Christ” in lieu of a swear word. Regardless of my personal opinion, I wanted to support the rules and also the fact that our school has people of all backgrounds and it is important to be aware of that. When I blurted the expletive, the guy at the spa laughed at me. I felt like a bad example. This was extremely ticklish and I had to get my feet out of the water.

The person kept convincing me to keep trying and that I’d get used to it in one minute. He said that if I left, I’d be the first person to ever leave the spa. I had a total of 20 minutes. I put my feet back in and laughed hysterically for 5 minutes. Taking the place of a cheerleader, he encouraged me to keep going. He told me that the laughing is ok and that is how tension is released. After a while, I got used to the feeling and it wasn’t as ticklish as the first few moments.

So here are some more pictures up close.

2014-04-25 19.49.39

2014-04-25 19.49.39

 

 

 

 

 

 

After my first experience with fish pedicure, my feet felt much smoother and less calloused. I made it! I finished the treatment by choosing to add a 30 minute foot massage. It seems foot massages are popular here.

It’s worth trying it, at least for the experience. You won’t die from a disease. I will miss this opportunity in the USA.

One thought on “Fish Pedicure at Alleviate, Chinatown Singapore

Comments

