Pink lipstick for the First Time

Two words: pink lipstick. After many failed attempts and trying on wrong shades, I just discovered that I can wear pink lipstick that pairs well with my chocolatey complexion.

When it comes to cosmetics, I admit that I don’t venture out too much. The reason is that finding suitable shades for darker skin is challenging. I remember shopping at a mall department store and the sales lady even admitted that when it comes to cosmetics, it’s “a white world”. Her exact words were:

Most [makeup] shades tend to have only one or two ‘dark shades’ when in reality there are many shades in between and many shades, colors, undertones of dark skin.

Lloyd Center Mall (NE Portland), has a store that sold makeup for black (and ethnic) women and had brands like Black Opal, Iman, Flori Roberts. I was a regular there till I moved. I’m not sure if the business still exists. It was further away from where I lived but it was nice to have cosmetics that fit my skin color.

When I find something that works well, I stay committed to it. I found a few pieces that I can recommend to other Indian women (or women with similar color and features). I hope some of you out there in the internet world find this helpful.

Putting it on

Photo on 7-17-14 at 11.11 AM #2

Please pardon my feeble attempt in writing about beauty. I generally don’t write about beauty or fashion. I wouldn’t consider myself a fashionista, but I know when I put on something that looks and feels beautiful. And of course Covet fashion app still remains to be my guilty pleasure.

I’m going crazy here because I finally found a pink lipstick that compliments my heritage that is my dark, Indian skin. I always thought that I could not wear pink lipstick. I used to think that pink lipstick best fits the complexion of white girls. If I was to wear pink lipstick, it’d have to be a certain shade. That certain shade is hard to find. Only other women with chocolate skin like myself would probably understand where I am coming from and why I’m so fricking excited.

I generally wear gloss but wanted a lipstick. I tend to gravitate towards brown-reds, reds, or mauves. Mauves are a staple fall color. For summer, I wanted to try something different, so that left me to explore nudes and pinks. Ideally, it’s something fit for the summer that’d also transition well into fall season and for mostly a day-time look.

I wandered through the department store hoping that the cosmetics sales lady knows what she’s doing. I stumbled upon Clinique. Clinique had its lipsticks displayed on a chart where you can choose your skin color and then a category: nudes, pinks, reds, purples/mauves, brown.

Thanks to Clinique, I found the perfect pink lipstick for me. It’s Clinique’s Different Lipstick in Shy.

Pink lipstick

Photo on 7-17-14 at 11.12 AM

My quest continued when I saw Jenis, one of my friends from Vancouver, BC post a picture of herself on facebook looking absolutely fabulous. This girl just knows how to wear her makeup and work it! I noticed the lipstick and asked her about it. What do you know? It’s Clinique again. This time it’s Clinique’s Different Lipstick in Sugarbean. I was looking for a lipstick that is somewhat nude and for a neutral, professional look that seems wearable all-year-round.

Sugarbean

Photo on 7-17-14 at 11.43 AM

Other favorites of mine include:

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer in Walnut

Tarte eyeshadow set in femme naturale. I got this as a gift and love the colors but the product is terrible. Even the awkward pink that I thought I’d never wear actually flatters me. The shadows don’t blend well and don’t stay long. I wish I could find similar colors in another brand.

Eyebrows. Lancome Le Crayon Poudre eyebrow pencil in Mahogany. I also use The Body Shop’s Brow and Liner kit. While at it, I gave up using eyeliner as eyebrow pencil. You need to use a lighter pencil on your eyebrows.

Now my dear readers, do you know any brands or shades that I should try?

Comments

