In 200 words: Describe a hot day

I had 10 minutes to respond to the prompt, “In 200 words, describe a hot day.”

*************

I wiped off the sweat bead forming near my eyebrow with my hand since I couldn’t find my Kleenex. The feeling of a layer of sweat underneath my clothes was something I tried to forget. It’s probably 100 degrees but it feels like I’m in a fricking oven. My legs felt like lead, but I knew we had about several more steps and we’re only halfway there. The other two carried on back and forth in their light conversations about football—and how much they missed the superbowl back home. My mind remained elsewhere while their conversations seemed to fly back and forth in a steady pace of tennis balls pacing back-and-forth in a court. They seemed oblivious to the heat.  

**************

Here is my inspiration. When Katie told me it was time to begin, the first image that came to my mind was a Ducktales PC game that I used to play as a kid. There was a scene where they were going through the Amazon jungle. I imagined three characters in a sweltering Amazon jungle and took it from there.

One thought on “In 200 words: Describe a hot day

Comments

