Random thought for the day

Happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, worn or consumed. Happiness is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace and gratitude.

To add to the thought I also want to say that, “Happiness cannot be expected from another person such as a significant other.” I believe that if you are unhappy, empty, lonely as a single then what on earth makes you think that a relationship will magically change everything. Nope. You are still the same person. You’ll end up disappointed when your significant other cannot always meet your unrealistic expectations and not only remain unhappy but also drag down and hurt those close to you.

There is, of course, nothing wrong with seeking a better paying job, asking for a raise, traveling to experience something new and unique, seeking a relationship, and so on. I think it’s important to be mindful of our intent on why we seek those things.

In our materialistic, hedonistic American culture, it seems that happiness is reduced as a commodity or a possession to own. Once a person owns that thing and discovers that it did not meet the initial expectations, disappointment is the result.

Then, we also have people who travel to “find themselves” as though expecting some kind of a existential moment. Don’t get me wrong. I believe life is short. By all means do fill it up with adventure and travel the world. I love traveling. Yet, if you are unhappy in Anytown, USA., what makes you think that an exotic locale will change anything?

Ultimately, no matter where you are you have to deal with yourself.

Happiness in entirely up to you. It’s a choice. If you are unhappy, maybe it’s time to look at yourself. Maybe it’s time to dump unrealistic expectations or to get a grip on yourself. How are you managing your life?

As for me, I am content even though things are far from ideal. There are many desires in my heart. But it takes time. I see it as a journey not a destination. I have goals, ambitions, dreams and things I want to accomplish. Of course, I go for it. Yet, I try to ground myself in realism and enjoy each moment of the journey. I don’t like to think, “Only if…”

It’s your life. You choose to deal with it.

Comments

