2 thoughts on “

  1. I remember this poem from writing group! The ending is a little scary to me, but I imagine that’s the effect you’re going for.

  2. Yes that was the effect I was going for. I wanted to flush out how wrath, bitterness, anger, envy is a toxic poison to the soul and how it corrupts a person. Toxic people not only hurt themselves but also those around them.

    The last line was partly inspired by Lady Macbeth’s line about killing a baby at her breast. She was using that line to manipulate Macbeth into killing Duncan. That line gave me chills when I was reading Macbeth and wanted to capture the same feeling even though it’s from a different reason. I wanted to make it ambiguous because it isn’t directly connected to the Shakespearan play. I was hoping the last line would give people the scare or chills.

Comments

